Minutes of the Spring Garden Township Board of Commissioners Reorganization Business Meeting 3:00 p.m. – January 2, 2024

Persons Present:

Daniel E. Rooney, President Commissioner David Detwiler, Vice President Commissioner Andrew Herrold, Commissioner Anne Gray, Commissioner

Thomas Gwilt, Commissioner Steve Hovis, Solicitor (Stock & Leader) Marcy L. Krūm-Tinsley, Township Manager Luther C. Wike, Jr., Asst. Sec., Finance Admin.

I. Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance

Commissioner Rooney called the meeting to order and led with the Pledge of Allegiance at 3:02 PM.

- A. Administration of Oath of Office by Magisterial District Judge, Jennifer J.P. Clancy, Esq.
 - 1. Magisterial District Judge, Jennifer J.P. Clancy administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner David Detwiler of Ward 1 to a 4-year term.
 - **2.** Magisterial District Judge, Jennifer J.P. Clancy administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Anne Gray of Ward 3 to a 4-year term.
 - **3.** Magisterial District Judge, Jennifer J.P. Clancy administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Thomas Gwilt of Ward 5 to a 4-year term.

B. Organization of the Board of Commissioners

- 1. Election
 - **a. Motion** Gwilt/Gray to elect Commissioner Rooney as President of the Board of Commissioners. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
 - **b.** Motion Herrold/Gwilt to elect Commissioner Detwiler as Vice President of the Board of Commissioners. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.

2. Appointment

- **a.** Motion Detwiler/Herrold to appoint Marcy Krūm-Tinsley as Township Secretary. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **b.** Motion Gwilt/Herrold to appoint Luther Wike, Jr. as Township Assistant Secretary. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.

C. Liaison Assignments

- 1. York Area United Fire and Rescue (YAUFR)
 - **a. Motion** Herrold/Gwilt to appoint President Commissioner Rooney as a YAUFR Primary Representative for a 2024-2025 term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
 - **b.** Motion Herrold/Gray to appoint Vice President Commissioner Detwiler as a YAUFR Alternate Representative for a 2024-2025 term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
 - c. Primary Representative: Commissioner Gwilt is currently serving a 2023-2024 term. The member at large for 2024-2025 is appointed by Springettsbury Twp.
- 2. Motion Detwiler/Herrold to appoint Commissioner Gray as the Planning Commission Liaison. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **3.** Motion Detwiler/Herrold to appoint Commissioner Herrold as the Zoning Hearing Board Liaison. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **4. Motion** Herrold/Rooney to appoint Commissioner Detwiler as the Civil Service Commission Liaison. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- Administration President Commissioner is Liaison
- Administration encompasses all township operations that fall under the reporting structure for the Township Manager.

D. Township Appointments

- 1. Motion Herrold/Detwiler to appoint Stock and Leader Law Firm with Steven Hovis as the primary contact as the Spring Garden Township Solicitor. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **2.** Motion Herrold/Gwilt to appoint C.S. Davidson with David Davidson, Jr. as the primary contact as the Spring Garden Township Engineer. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **3.** Motion Herrold/Gwilt to appoint Marcy Krūm-Tinsley as the Spring Garden Township Treasurer. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **4. Motion** Gwilt/Gray to appoint Luther C Wike, Jr. as the Spring Garden Township Assistant Treasurer. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **5. Motion** Herrold/Detwiler to appoint SEK with Krista Gardner as the primary contact as the Chief Financial Officer. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- 6. Motion Gray/Gwilt to appoint Barbara Bair, York County Treasurer as the Spring Garden Township Municipal Real Estate and Fire Tax Collector for 2 years. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- 7. Planning Commission

- **a. Motion** Detwiler/Gray to reappoint Scott Stevens as the Ward 3 Planning Commissioner to a 4-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- Motion Rooney/Herrold to reappoint John Dehaas as the Ward 5 Planning Commissioner to a 4-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- c. Ward 4, Vacant (term concludes end of 2025)
- 8. Vacancy Board (Citizen Member)
 - **a. Motion** Herrold/Gwilt to appoint John Flinchbaugh as the Vacancy Board Citizen Member to a 2-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- 9. York Adams Tax Bureau
 - a. Motion Gwilt/Herrold to appoint Luther Wike, Jr. as the YATB Primary Representative to a 2-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
 - **b.** Motion Gray/Detwiler to appoint Marcy Krūm-Tinsley as the YATB Alternate Representative to a 2-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- **10.** Chesapeake Bay Pollutant Reduction Plan Regional Committee (York County Stormwater Consortium)
 - a. Motion Gwilt/Herrold to appoint Marcy Krūm-Tinsley as the Chesapeake Bay Pollutant Reduction Plan Regional Committee Primary Voting Representative to a 2-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
 - **b.** Motion Herrold/Gray to appoint Dawn Hansen as the Alternate Voting Representative to a 2-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- 11. York County Community Development Block Grant Program Advisory Committee Member
 - a. Motion Herrold/Detwiler to appoint Marcy Krūm-Tinsley as the Block Grant Program Advisory Committee Member for a 2-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- 12. York County Local Government Advisory Committee
 - a. Motion Herrold/Gwilt to appoint Dawn Hansen to the York County Local Government Advisory Committee for a 2-year term. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- 13. Sewage Enforcement Officer
 - a. Motion Gray/Herrold to appoint Brandt Fink as the Primary SEO and Adam Anderson and Jeremy Kerstetter of Site Design as the alternate SEOs to 2-year terms. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.

E. Other Business

1. Resolution 2024-01, Signing Authority

Motion Detwiler/Gwilt to approve Resolution 2024-01, Signing Authority, giving the Township Manager/Secretary authority to sign contracts and agreements the Commissioners have entered into by and as Spring Garden Township. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.

- Acceptance of Retirement Notice of Michael Palmer, Parking Enforcement Officer Motion Herrold/Gray to accept the retirement notice of Michael Palmer, Parking Enforcement Officer. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.
- 3. Part-time interim Chief of Police Agreement
- **Motion** Gwilt/Detwiler to approve the Part-Time Interim Chief of Police Agreement. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.

F. Public Comment

Inch & Co. Boxwood Land Use Appeal for Tent: Solicitor Hovis announced that the court remanded to the Zoning Hearing Board take the additional testimony from Inch & Co. Inch counsel has requested a meeting with the solicitor. Solicitor Hovis indicated he would report back to the Board regarding meeting.

II. Adjourn

Motion Herrold/Detwiler to adjourn at 3:43 PM. Discussion: none. Public comment: none. Carries 5/0.

Respectfully submitted,

Marcy L. Krūm-Tinsley Township Manager/Secretary

lw